Jazz on 3 - Mark Lockheart's In Deep

Jez Nelson presents an exclusive session by saxophonist and composer Mark Lockheart with his 'In Deep' quintet. Featuring the cream of British jazz including Tom Arthurs on trumpet, pianist Liam Noble, bassist Jasper Hoiby and Dave Smith on drums. Expect ingenious lyricism and rhythms, masterful musicianship and inventive compositions from a man who's become well known for his evolutionary approach to making music. Mark's latest project follows a long line of adventurous musical endeavors that he's undertaken since he first appeared in the seminal 1980's band Loose Tubes. From being a member of Perfect Houseplants to young outfit Polar Bear, Mark's contributions to British jazz span three decades. His latest incarnation 'In Deep' allows each member to shine yet retains a deep sense of cohesion and harmony. Follow Jez Nelson and the Jazz On 3 team on twitter: http://twitter.com/jeznelson http://twitter.com/r3jazzon3 See photos from Jazz on 3 recordings: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jazzon3 Extract from 'Undercovers' by Mark Lockheart's In Deep (details below) Jez is joined by the Guardian's jazz critic John Fordham CD tracks: Artist: Julien Lourau Track title: Diaspora Album title: Quartet Saigon Label: Naive Released: 31 December 2009 Julien Lourau's Quartet Saigon perform at the Vortex Jazz Club in London on the 8th and 9th February 2010. Artist: Jason Yarde/Andrew McCormack Track title: Something's Coming Album title: My Duo Label: Joy and Ears Released: 24 December 2009 Artist: Jason Yarde/Andrew McCormack Track title: Coda Album title: My Duo Label: Joy and Ears Released: 24 December 2009 Artist: Heinz Sauer with Michael Wollny and Joachim Kuhn on piano Track title: All Blues Album title: If (Blue) Then (Blue) Label: ACT Released: 11 January 2010 Artist: The Necks Track title: Silverwater Album title: Silverwater Label: ReR Released: November 2009 Artist: DECOY (Alexander Hawkins - Hammond C3 Organ, John Edwards - double bass, Steve Noble - drums/cymbals) Track title: Crossroad Album title: Vol. 2: The Deep Label: Bo'Weavil Released: 7 December 2009 Tony Dudley Evans, Artistic Director of Birmingham Jazz speaks to Jez about two new festivals in the city and introduces the Sam Wooster Quartet Harmonic Festival 12-13 March 2010 at the CBSO Symphony Hall www.harmonicfestival.co.uk Mostly Jazz festival 3-4 July 2010 at Mosely Park, Birmingham www.mostlyjazz.co.uk Artist: Sam Wooster Quartet Track title: La Nuit Du Jour Album title: [cap-a-tan] Label: self released Released: May 2009 Artist: Anouar Brahem Track title: Stopover at Djibouti Album title: The Astounding Eyes of Rita Label: ECM Released: 28 September 2009 Jez and John Fordham discuss Mark Lockheart's career and the session recorded exclusively for Jazz on 3 Mark Lockheart's In Deep group in session, recorded at Phoenix Sound Studios on 15 December 2009 Line up: Mark Lockheart - tenor and soprano saxophones Tom Arthurs - trumpet Liam Noble - piano Jasper Hoiby - bass Dave Smith - drums Set list: Long Way Gone Undercovers Not In My Name Believe It Or Not Surfacing All tracks composed by Mark Lockheart Recommended further listening: Artist: Mark Lockheart and the NDR Big Band Album title: Days Like These Label: Fuzzy Moon Released: February 2010 Artist: Mark Lockheart Album title: In Deep Label: Edition Released: May 2009.