Jazz on 3 - Dave Douglas Quintet

Radio 3 at the Summer Festivals Jez Nelson presents versatile trumpeter and composer Dave Douglas recorded in concert at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival 2009. His quintet features Donny McCaslin on saxophone, Orren Evans on Fender Rhodes, Scott Colley on bass and Clarence Penn on drums. Douglas' big break came in 1987 when he joined Horace Silver's group and began touring internationally. Since then Douglas has toured with John Zorn's Masada and many of his own groups, covering a wide range of influences from Ornette Coleman and Mary Lou Williams to Western art music and European folk. Playlist: Excerpt from Earmarks by the Dave Douglas Quintet recorded at the 2009 Cheltenham Jazz Festival (details below) CD track: Artist: Joe Lovano's Us Five (Joe Lovano - saxophone, James Weidman - piano, Esperanza Spalding - bass, Otis Brown III - drums and percussion, Francisco Mela - drums and percussion) Track title: Powerhouse Composer: Joe Lovano Album title: Folk Art Label: Blue Note Hear Joe Lovano's Us Five recorded at Ronnie Scott's on Jazz on 3 on July 6, 2009 Artist: Led Bib (Mark Holub - drums, Liran Donin - bass, Toby McLaren - keyboards, Pete Grogan - sax, Chris Williams - sax) Track title: Sweet Chilli Composer: Mark Holub Album Title: Sensible Shoes Label: Cuneiform Artist: Robert Wyatt and Daniel Yvinec's Orchestre National de Jazz Track title: The Song Composer: Blegvad/Greaves Album title: Around Robert Wyatt Label: Bee Jazz Ingrid Laubrock speaks to Jez about winning Germany's prestigious SWR Jazz Award for her 2008 album Sleepthief. Artist: Ingrid Laubrock (Ingrid Laubrock - saxophone, Liam Noble - piano, Tom Rainey - drums) Track title: Oofy Twerp Composer: Ingrid Laubrock Album title: Sleepthief Label: Intakt Upcoming 2009 tour dates: Brandford Marsalis 26 May @ Birmingham Town Hall 28 May @ Ronnie Scott's, London Led Bib 4 June @ Norwich Arts Centre 5 June @ Chapel Arts Centre, Bath 6 June @ The Bluecoat Liverpool 7 June @ The Jazz Bar, Edinburgh 8 June @ Stereo, Glasgow 9 June @ The Mint Lounge, Manchester 10 June @ Dempsey's, Cardiff 11 June @ The Yardbird Birmingham 12 June @ Taylor John's House Coventry 24 June @ The Vortex London Robert Wyatt and Charlie Haden's Liberation Orchestra 20 June @ Meltdown Festival, Royal Festival Hall, London Dave Douglas Quintet recorded at the Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham on May 3, 2009 Line up: Dave Douglas (trumpet) Donny McCaslin (saxophone) Orin Evans (Rhodes keyboard) Clarence Penn (drums) Scott Colley (bass) Set one list: Handwritten Letter Campaign Trail Earmarks Blues for Steve Lacy Dave Douglas speaks about the philosophy of the band backstage at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival Set two list: Invocation War Room Little Penn Links: http://www.joelovano.com http://www.ledbib.com http://www.myspace.com/robertwyatt http://www.onj.org http://www.ingridlaubrock.com http://www.davedouglas.com.